<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Libraries Interact &#187; databases</title>
	<atom:link href="http://librariesinteract.info/tag/databases/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://librariesinteract.info</link>
	<description>Blog central for Australasian Libraries</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Wed, 08 Sep 2010 03:25:29 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.0.1</generator>
		<item>
		<title>LA LA LA &#8211; the annual report</title>
		<link>http://librariesinteract.info/2008/10/16/la-la-la-the-annual-report/</link>
		<comments>http://librariesinteract.info/2008/10/16/la-la-la-the-annual-report/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 16 Oct 2008 10:00:06 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Peta Hopkins</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[All sectors]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Useful resources]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[libraries]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://librariesinteract.info/?p=666</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[What do Deakin University, National Library of Australia, Kingston Information and Library Service and Zenith Management Services have in common? -The are the four organisations topping their sectors in the number of searches against Libraries Australia databases. The Libraries Australia annual report for 2007/08 is now available. While annual reports are not exactly exciting reading [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<abbr class="unapi-id" title="lint:666"><!-- &nbsp; --></abbr>
<p>What do Deakin University, National Library of Australia, Kingston Information and Library Service and Zenith Management Services have in common? -The are the four organisations topping their sectors in the number of searches against Libraries Australia databases.</p>
<p>The <a href="http://www.nla.gov.au/librariesaustralia/aum/laf08/documents/Annualreport_2008.pdf">Libraries Australia annual report for 2007/08</a> is now available. While annual reports are not exactly exciting reading there are some interesting facts and figures to be gleaned from them. In this one I learned that:</p>
<ul>
<li>The Australian National Bibliographic Database is the most heavily used of the Libraries Australia (LA) databases with over 12 million searches in 2007-08</li>
<li>With WorldCat opened to all LA members at the beginning of 2007 searching against that database increased by 31 times the number of previous year&#8217;s searches to almost 850,000. Thank you LA for making this arrangement with OCLC to make WorldCat available. It was clearly a good move for LA members who wanted more than they could get from the free WorldCat search on the web.</li>
<li>There are now more than 1250 members of LA &#8211; but it doesn&#8217;t state how many are individuals vs. institutions.</li>
</ul>
<p>If you want to find out more about Libraries Australia the annual report is worth dipping into.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://librariesinteract.info/2008/10/16/la-la-la-the-annual-report/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
